Healthcare Expenditure 2021: Netherlands and Treaty Countries

Recently released tables shed light on healthcare expenditures in 2021 per capita in treaty countries. Treaty countries include the European Economic Area (EU plus Norway, Iceland, and Liechtenstein), Switzerland, the United Kingdom, and several other countries (see list under variables) with which the Netherlands has agreements regarding medical care in case of emigration.

Key Insights:

  1. Expenditure Patterns per Treaty Country: The tables provide a detailed overview of healthcare expenditures in 2021 per inhabitant in various treaty countries. These expenditures are influenced by the living-country factor, a ratio between local healthcare expenditures and Dutch healthcare expenditures.
  2. EU and Beyond: All countries of the European Economic Area, including EU countries, Norway, Iceland, and Liechtenstein, are included in the analysis. Switzerland and the United Kingdom, along with several other specific countries, are also considered.
  3. Financial Compensation: The Netherlands pays a compensation to treaty countries for healthcare covered by local social insurance, used by Dutch citizens residing in these countries. At the same time, Dutch expatriates in treaty countries pay premiums for the Health Insurance Act and the Long-Term Care Act.
  4. Variables and Context: The list of countries, available under variables, provides a clear picture of the geographical scope of the analysis. This data is funded by the Ministry of Health, Welfare, and Sport (VWS).