Launch of Implementation for Digital Transformation Pilot Cities for Small and Medium Enterprises (SMEs) in China

The Ministry of Industry and Information Technology announces the official commencement of the implementation of digital transformation pilot cities for small and medium enterprises (SMEs) across the nation today, October 29. The initial phase includes 30 cities/regions, such as Suzhou, Xiamen, Changchun, and Ningbo. These cities will receive fixed incentives from the central government, aiming to explore effective models to support the digital transformation of SMEs and develop replicable and scalable experiences.

In addition, the “National Report on the Digital Transformation Development of Small and Medium Enterprises (2023)” was released today. With the participation of 159,000 SMEs in the assessment, the results indicate that over 60% of participating enterprises have achieved visualization and lean management in the production processes of more than half of their key businesses. Traditional industries such as light industry, petrochemicals, steel, and food show relatively advanced levels in digital transformation, with overall leadership from specialized and innovative enterprises. Currently, over 20 provinces nationwide have formulated relevant policies and supporting measures to accelerate the integration of the digital economy and the real economy.